Teaching Geology

5 Jan

I’m studying to become and Earth and Physical Science teacher for grades 7-12. I love the earth and learning about how our earth changes and transforms. I love the outdoors and nature. Most of all I love teaching and educating people about our beautiful earth. I work as a teacher in a private school, and I enjoy teaching and working with kids, although when I work to become a science teacher I would be working with young adults. I also taught Astronomy this summer to a group of 6 graders in this program run by NASA. It was such a great experience, and I really enjoyed it.

Assignment:

I really enjoyed this article, very inspiring and informative. One thing I loved doing as a student in HS and also now throughout college is experiments. When you see a process occur you are able to better grasp the idea and like what Dave said mold it into your own ways. When taking chemistry and most of my Geo classes I learned so much from experiments and also a lot from field trips we go on. Its amazing how much you learn when you actually do it yourself. You feel so empowered when you understand something by actually visualizing it as opposed to your teacher telling it to you and you just storing it in your memory.


 

 

9 Responses to “Teaching Geology”

  1. ishmail January 6, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    Field trips are among the best experiences a student can have.Students learn about real world situations and form strong personal bonds which can be very useful when they network later in life.Geology students at York College look forward to these experiences and the same should be true for high school students. i have observed Earth Science classes and students are ALWAYS more interested when there is a lab.scheduled.These are times to maximize learning. I think you are fortunate to be able to teach in the NASA program and would be able to transfer your ideas when you start teaching in high school.

  2. Ms. Redwood January 6, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    It is very nice that you’re getting teaching experience. Several of us don’t get teaching experience until student teaching.

  3. Nasrin January 6, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    Amusid, I totally agree with you! Experimenting helps us grasp things better to enhance our understand. Experimenting helps us visualize as you have said and not just act like “memory machines”. Through experimenting we can actually interpret the information in a way that we can understand rather than take it in and memorizing the notes as given by teachers. I believe experimenting is a great way of teaching, especially science.

  4. sukhijanda January 6, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Experimenting is an important part of learning. We don’t learn properly until we practically work on that task.

  5. jess143 January 6, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    wow you already started teaching. I always wanted to know more about the earth and etc.

  6. Andrea January 6, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    I always hated Science in High School but I loved doing experiments. Is really nice that you started teaching already, it’s a great feeling, I have been teaching in an after school program and summer camps as well and is just amazing how students see you as a role model too. Wish you luck! =]

    • Dhruv January 6, 2012 at 11:11 am #

      Science is awesome… how could you hate it?

      • amusid January 12, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

        agreed..lol

  7. N. Cedillo January 6, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    NASA? That’s awesome! i can see that a lot of students in this class are science majors, that’s great. The fact that you are so interested in what you are going to teach is a good thing now you can share what you know with your students with a smile on your face.

Leave a Reply

